License Revocation/Limited Driving Privileges
One of the immediate effects of getting a DUI could be that your license will be revoked, making it difficult for you to get to work or take care of your family.
The attorneys at Woody White Law Firm PLLC, have successfully represented several clients in the North Carolina and federal court systems. We will make sure that your rights are protected as we help you navigate the justice system.
Challenging License Revocation Following A DUI/DWI
Under North Carolina law, your license will automatically be revoked for 30 days if you are charged with underage drinking or if you received a DUI/DWI while driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 or higher.
At the discretion of the court, you are eligible for limited driving privileges for the last 20 days of this 30-day revocation. Limited driving privileges allow you to drive for employment-related issues and household maintenance. In some instances, you can challenge the initial revocation and not wait for the 10-day period.
A second type of revocation is known as refusal revocation. North Carolina recently switched the machine that is used to test BAC, resulting in a higher rate of refusals to take the breath test, which results in the revocation of your license.
In most cases, refusal of revocation caused by refusing a breath test can be challenged. When you have lost your license, it is important to work with an experienced DUI defense attorney to minimize your time spent without a driver’s license. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest and other factors, we may be able to get the charges against you reduced so that you do not lose your license at all.
Experience ∙ Dedication ∙ Results
At Woody White Law Firm PLLC, our DUI defense lawyer is ready to assist you in limiting revocation of your license. Contact us at our Cape Fear license revocation attorney to discuss the charges against you.