Phone
910-338-4900
Woody White Law PLLC
Toll Free
866-677-8525

May 2015 Archives

The possession of marijuana in North Carolina

In North Carolina, the possession of half an ounce or less of marijuana is only considered to be a misdemeanor crime and subjects the accused to a $200 fine or less. According to some, the state has essentially decriminalized the possession of a small amount of marijuana. While these are not steep penalties, there are some states that have actually legalized marijuana for personal use. Because of this, it is important to understand the difference between decriminalizing marijuana use and legalizing it.

What is statutory rape in North Carolina?

May-December romances may be found between people of many ages in North Carolina. When both parties are over the age of 18, such a relationship is entirely legal. However, if one of the parties is between 13 and 15 years old, such a relationship may be illegal, and may in fact be considered statutory rape.

Avvo Rating Business North Carolina's | Legal Elite